All Saints Episcopal Church has often been referred to as “the church on the hill.”  Through the generosity of May Packer Cummings, All Saints became a reality in 1907.

In 1905, Mary Packer Cummings announced she would build a stone church and rectory.  She traveled to England to employ an architect who would build “a church on a hill.”  She built the church and rectory for $50,000.  The church is constructed of grey stone, quarried from Bowmanstown, PA, and the blue trimmings are Wyoming blue stone.

The cornerstone was laid in October 1906 and All Saints was consecrated on Monday, September 30, 1907, at 10:30 A.M., with services conducted by the Right Rev. Ethelbert Talbot, D.D, Bishop of the Diocese of Central Pennsylvania.

All Saints Priests:

  • 1904-1915 – The Rev. Asahel Amos Bresee, rector
  • 1915-1918 – The Rev. Winfred H. Ziegler
  • 1918-1927 – The Rev. Thomas Shoesmith
  • 1928-1961 – The Rev. Harry J. Wyatt
  • 1961-1967 – The Rev. John Henry Diehl
  • 1967-1980 – The Rev. William E. Smalley
  • 1978-2001 – The Rev. Canon Doris S. Bray
  • 1980-1987 – The Rev. David R. Ferner
  • 1989-1996 – The Rev. Robert F. Magnus
  • 1996-2005 – The Rev. M. Peter Harer
  • 2006-2016 – The Rev. Jane Arrington Bender, priest-in-charge
  • 2016 – The Rev. Michael Piovane, interim priest
  • 2016-present – The Rev. Rebecca Parsons Cancelliere, interim priest